Skip to content Skip to footer

Goodman Campus lauds student achievement during Honors Day

Goodman Campus lauds student achievement during Honors Day

The Holmes Community College Goodman Campus recognized its students' achievements and honors during the 2018 Honors Day Program held April 30 in Frank Branch Coliseum.

Representatives from each academic and career-technical program presented awards to students who have shown excellence in their given major, program or extracurricular activity. Other special awards were given, as well, in various categories.

Award presentations including recognition began with Goodman Campus Director Andy Wood recognizing the 2018 Goodman Campus Hall of Fame inductees. Hall of Fame is the highest honor a student can receive and recipients were voted on by faculty and staff based on academic achievement, campus involvement and community service. The inductees included: Blake Bell, Ethan Burton, Kameron Edwards, Miguel Garcia and Hallie Westbrook.

Each of these students earned other awards, as well. Bell was the Physical Science Award recipient and Burton received the Foreign Language Award, Growl Award, Bill Watkins Visual Arts Award and recognition for Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Team. Westbrook received the English Composition Award and was recognized with the Phi Theta Kappa Order of the Golden Key honor. Finally, Garcia received the Student Government Association Award and both he and Edwards were two of the six Holmes Plus Award recipients. Holmes Plus is a competitive scholarship organization for students who show an aptitude in science and mathematics.

The other Holmes Plus Award recipients were Reilly Carr, Matthew McGee, Cailyn Pope and Jacob Rhodes. The Biological Science Award went to Ana-Claire Edwards; the Architectural Engineering Award, Ronnie Dickard; the Engineering Award, Austin Hanna; the Wesley David Rule Mathematics Award, Derrel Bilsky and the Social and Behavioral Science Award, Tara Adams. The Business Administration Award went to London Steverson; the Elementary Education Award to Kelli Ray; the Literature Award to Jonathan Boles; the Health, Physical Education and Recreation Department Award to Christopher Dye; the W.Y. Sudduth History and Political Science Award to Mary Morgan Stafford and the Outstanding Online Student Award to Michelle Salers.

Among the musically-talented students, Chandler Garrett received the Band Award; Isaiah Miller, the Choral Music Award; Jaylon Townsend, the Music Major Award and Courtney Clay, the Percussion Groups Award.

In the career-technology and workforce programs, Michael Gray received the Automotive Technology Award; April Lishman, the Business and Technology Award; Rictavius Haymon, Collision Repair Technology Award; Jasmine Thomas, Cosmetology Award; Tonya Dawson, Criminal Justice Award and Stefan McKibben, the Heating and Air Conditioning Technology Award. Additionally, John Ellingburg received the Industrial Technology Award; Sarah Stevenson was named the Practical Nursing Award recipient and Charles Cappelli received the Welding Award.

Other special awards were given, as well. Trent Pike received the Deans and Directors Award, which is bestowed upon a non-traditional student who has been out of school for a while and but has exceptional grades and has made an impact in the classroom.

Elizabeth Howell was the recipient of the Dr. Marilyn Burrell Memorial Award, which is given to a student with a strong academic record, leadership skills and campus involvement. Howell also received the Creative Writing Award.

The Christine Herron Academic Achievement Award, given to a non-traditional student who is active in MOSAIC and shows academic excellence, was presented to Ebony Huntley. Another special award is the Michael Klauk Award, named for a former pre-med student who tragically passed away. Pre-med major Hallie Murtagh received this award for exemplifying the same model student qualities Klauk did.

Finally, the prestigious Sally Wilson Distinguished Educator Award, which is chosen by the Goodman Campus student body, was presented to Derrick Rainey, an automotive technology instructor. The award is named for the first and longtime advisor of the Kappa Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and it recognizes an outstanding educator for his or her excellence in Phi Theta Kappa's hallmarks of fellowship, leadership, scholarship and service.


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured are all of the Goodman Campus award recipients following the Annual Awards & Honors Program held April 30 in Frank Branch Coliseum. The recipients are (front row, left to right) Jaylon Townsend, Elizabeth Howell, Chandler Garrett, Jasmine Thomas, Tara Adams, Kameron Edwards, Isaiah Miller, Hallie Murtagh, London Steverson, Ana-Claire Edwards, Kelli Ray, (second row, left to right) Ethan Burton, Rictavius Haymon, Mary Morgan Stafford, Courtney Clay, Reilly Carr, Cailyn Pope, Ebony Huntley, Stefan McKibben, Michelle Salers, Trent Pike, Sarah Stevenson, Jonathan Boles, Hallie Westbrook, (back row, left to right) Derrel Bilsky, Austin Hanna, Jacob Rhodes, Michael Gray, Charles Cappelli, Miguel Garcia, Blake Bell, Matthew McGee, April Lishman and Tonya Dawson.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter