Skip to content Skip to footer

Grenada Campus lauds literary contest winners

Grenada Campus lauds literary contest winners

Each year, the Grenada Campus holds a Creative Writing Contest. All winners receive cash prizes furnished by the Holmes Foundation. First and second place winners are forwarded to the Mississippi Community College Creative Writing Association contest and will be published in Holmes's Creative Writing Journal, Reflections.

The Short Fiction Category winners were as follows: first place, "White Trash Superstar" by Lake Dubois; second place, "Sidewalk" by Madison Brewer, and third place, "The Nectar of Life" by Hannah Ritchie. In the Creative Nonfiction Category, first place went to "The Good People" by Shunta Rivers and second place to "The Nameless Game" by M. Kennedy.

For Literary Essay, Ashley Hatch won first place for "Fire and Desire in Ibsen's Hedda Gabler" and Sara Goss won second for "Henrik Ibsen's Hedda Gabler: Three Women, One Problem." In the Poetry Category, Brewer won first place for "Forgiveness," "Storm" and "Just My Luck." Emily Caldwell placed second for "Picasso" and "Please Don't Tell Me," and Ben Wilkes won third for "The Rope." Ritchie also received an Honorable Mention for "Butterfly Forest."

Finally, Wilkes won first place in the Drama Category for "The Two Paths."


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured are the Grenada Campus Literary Contest winners. They are (left to right) Madison Brewer, Emily "Kayti" Caldwell and Ben Wilkes. Not pictured: Luke Dubois, Sara Goss, Ashley Hatch, M. Kennedy, Hannah Ritchie and Shunta Rivers.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter