Skip to content Skip to footer

Holmes holds 93rd Commencement on May 14

Holmes Community College held its Spring Commencement Ceremonies on Friday, May 14, in Frank Branch Coliseum on the Goodman Campus. The ceremony for students on the Attala, Goodman and Grenada campuses was held at 10 a.m. followed by the ceremony for students on the Ridgeland and Yazoo campuses at 2 p.m. Both ceremonies began with a video of Olympic gymnast Gabby Douglas giving an address followed by a video highlighting the 2020-21 school year.

After the videos, a student leader gave the invocation to start the ceremony. Kenneth Spencer Burden, vice president of Phi Theta Kappa and SkillsUSA on the Goodman Campus, gave the invocation for the first ceremony and Enrique Amaro Torres, president of SkillsUSA for the Ridgeland Campus, gave the invocation for the second one. Next, Holmes President Dr. Jim Haffey presented special awards to handful of exceptional students. The M.C. McDaniel family established a scholarship to be presented to outstanding graduating sophomores who plan to further his or her education at an institution of higher learning. Dr. Haffey presented the M.C. McDaniel Awards to Jon Parker Jones, Goodman Campus; Hannah Olivia Lane, Grenada Campus, and Deja Sloan, Ridgeland Campus. As for the Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Award, Parker was the Goodman recipient, Lane the Grenada recipient and Addie Fetcko received the recognition for the Ridgeland Campus.

The Class of 2021 valedictorians and salutatorians were recognized, as well. The valedictorians included Andrea Joy Bonner, Ridgeland Campus; Bryan Thomas Johnson, Ridgeland; Jon Parker Jones – Goodman; Hannah Olivia Lane, Grenada; Sofia Alexandra Melgar, Ridgeland; April Alicia Thompson, Ridgeland and Jenson Williams, Goodman. The salutatorian was Kaleigh Cosgrove, Goodman.

In addition, this year Holmes held a cap decorating contest and presented Apple Airpods to the winners. Malita Chaffier won the cap decorating contest for the first ceremony and Eraneisha Ricks won the contest for the second. Director of Admissions Bethany Miller presented the Airpods to the winners at the start of the ceremony.


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured are the 2021 valedictorians and salutatorian. They are (top row, left to right) valedictorians Jenson Willliams (Goodman), Jon Parker Jones (Goodman), Hannah Olivia Lane (Grenada), salutatorian Kaleigh Cosgrove (Goodman); (bottom row, left to right) Andrea Joy Bonner (Ridgeland), Bryan Thomas Johnson (Ridgeland), April Alicia Thompson (Ridgeland) and Sofia Alexandra Melgar (Ridgeland).

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter