Skip to content Skip to footer

Holmes Ridgeland celebrates 19 graduates from Associate Degree Nursing program

The Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus held a Pinning Ceremony for the graduating Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) Class of 2023 on Dec. 6 in the McGowan Workforce Training Center. These 20 students were in the evening/weekend program.

The Class of 2023 included Donna Ammons of Brandon, Lasynthia Lashay Chapman of Byram, Erica Clark of Jackson, Jakyraunah Dean of Madison, Helen Roshan Ellzey-Robinson of Jackson, Briana Gibbs of Clinton, Cecily Griffin of Madison, Jayla Hanible of Madison, Evelyn Henderson of Jackson, Erin Marie Hopkins of Richland, Tiffany Leverett of Bentonia, Patrick McCoy of Madison, Lamiya Ousley of Camden, Shaneika Parker of Brandon, Kara Usry of Florence, Stephanie Walker of Flora, Carrie Ann White of Yazoo City, Markesa Williams of Brandon and Sullivan Windham of Brandon.

The program began with a processional of the Class of 2023 followed by a welcome from Ridgeland Campus Vice President Dr. Don Burnham and ADN Program Chair/Assistant Director Dr. Alice Austin. Class President Lasynthia Chapman followed Dr. Austin with the opening prayer. Next, ADN instructor Alicia Turner explained the symbolism behind the nurse pin and candle before the graduates came forward.

ADN instructor Kim Manning called each graduate’s name as instructors Virginia Applewhite and Kailey Phillips pinned them/gave them their lamp candle. Dr. Austin presented their certificates, as well. Finally, instructor Cindy Bridges led the students in the Nightingale Pledge before Class Vice President Shaneika Parker gave the closing prayer.

For more information about the ADN program on the Ridgeland Campus, contact Dr. Austin at (601) 605-3419 or


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured is the Ridgeland Campus ADN Class of 2023, evening and weekend track students. They are (first row, left to right) Helen Ellzey-Robinson of Jackson, Jayla Hanible of Madison, Evelyn Henderson of Jackson, Carrie Ann White of Yazoo City, Sullivan Windham of Brandon, (second row, left to right) Erin Hopkins of Richland, Jakyraunah Dean of Madison, Markesa Williams of Brandon, (third row, left to right) Erica Clark of Jackson, Briana Gibbs of Clinton, Lamiya Ousley of Camden, Cecily Griffin of Madison, (fourth row, left to right) Kara Usry of Florence, Patrick McCoy of Madison, Lasynthia Chapman of Byram, (back row, left to right) Shaneika Parker of Brandon, Stephanie Walker of Flora, Tiffany Leverett of Bentonia and Donna Ammons of Brandon.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter