Skip to content Skip to footer

Ridgeland Campus holds 2021 Honors Day

The Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus recognized its students’ achievements and honors during the 2021 Honors Day Program held April 20 in the McGowan Workforce Training Center. Representatives from each academic and career-technical program presented awards to students who have shown excellence in their given major, program or extracurricular activity. Other special awards were given, as well, in various categories.

The evening began with a welcome from Ridgeland Campus Career and Technical Coordinator Allison DeWeese and an invocation from Ridgeland Campus Vice President Dr. Don Burnham. Award presentations began with recognizing the 2021 Ridgeland Campus Hall of Fame inductees. Hall of Fame is the highest honor a student can receive and recipients were voted on by faculty and staff based on academic achievement, campus involvement and community service. The inductees included: Emily Carr, Addie Fetcko, Darrell Grantham, Mary Grace Kelley, Colby Mozee, Briana Reaser, Deja Sloan, Laney Smith, Carly Williams and Ravyne Wilson.

The Biological Science Award went to Matthew Burnham; the Physical Science Award went to Jackson Kiser and the Engineering Award to Eric Benton. The Business Administration Award went to Macey Claire Wilson; the Criminal Justice Award to Jalen James; the Educational Programs Award to Lauren Anderson and the English Composition Award to Bethany Biggers. Fallon Stephens received the Fine Arts Award; Ravynne Wilson the Health, Physical Education & Recreation Award; Aurora Sant’Angelo, the Journalism Award; Grace High, the Literature Award and Anna Booth, the Spanish Award.

George Kotev was the History & Political Science Award recipient; Michelle Weathersby, the Mathematics Award recipient; Reagan Savell, Computer Science Award; Junnah Faye Mondejar, Public Speaking Award and Genesis Smith, the Social & Behavioral Science Award.

In the career-technology and workforce programs, Gabriel K. Rainey was the Information Systems Technology Award recipient; Jessica Pickett received the Occupational Therapy Assistant Awards; Laura Swalm, Business Technology; Ashley Boyles, Surgical Technology; Howard Evans, Emergency Medical Sciences and Michael Gonzalez, Engineering Technology. In addition, Gage Jones received the Industrial Maintenance Mechanics Award; Meritxell Viveros, Paralegal Technology; Tyler Watts, Welding & Cutting Technology and Cameron Ming, Associate Degree Nursing.

Dr. Andrew Kelly took the stage to recognize the 2021 Ridgeland Campus Literary Contest winners. The winners were: Kaija Hayne, first place in the Literary Essay Category for “A Stuttering Flow;” Rigoberto Leon, second place for “June Jordan’s World in 1960;” Ashtin Crawford, first place in Poetry for “Brown Girl” and “First Kiss;” Piper Patterson, second place for “Makeup;” Elisabeth Bailey, first in Short Story for “The Journals of Lydia Kath” and Emily Sanders, first in Personal Essay for “A Completely Different Woman.”

The ceremony concluded with closing remarks by Ridgeland Campus Academic Dean Dr. Tonya Lawrence.


Equal Access/Equal Opportunity
Holmes Community College does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of race, color, gender, sex, pregnancy, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, religion, national origin, citizenship, age, disability, veteran status, or genetic information. Employees, students, applicants for admission or employment, or other participants in Holmes Community College programs or activities who believe they have been discriminated against are entitled to seek relief through the Compliance Officer (662) 472-9429. Written inquiries may be e-mailed to: or sent to: Compliance Office, P.O. Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter