Skip to content Skip to footer

Dr. Lawrence selected as a 2022 Moody Institute Fellow

Dr. Tonya Lawrence, Holmes Community College’s Dean of Academic Programs, was selected as a 2022 Moody Institute Fellow. The Mississippi Community College Foundation and the Moody Institute Trust Fund Board selected Dr. Lawrence along with Christy Ferguson from East Central Community College, Stephanie Greer from Southwest Mississippi Community College and Erin Harrington from Northwest Mississippi Community College. 

Dr. Lawrence first came to Holmes in 2005 as a biological sciences instructor. In 2009, she was named director of evening and weekend programs; a role she held for two years before her promotion to academic dean. Among her many accolades, she has been named a Lamplighter for Holmes, which means she was chosen to represent the college at the annual conference hosted by the Mississippi Community/Junior College Academic Dean’s Association. The Lamplighter Conference recognizes and rewards effective instructors and gives them the opportunity to share those teaching techniques with one another. Additionally, Dr. Lawrence received the Phi Theta Kappa Distinguished College Administrator Award in 2019, which is given to college vice presidents, deans or directors who have demonstrated a strong level of support for the honor society.  

Dr. Lawrence earned her Doctor of Philosophy in Community College Leadership from Mississippi State University in May of 2017. Previously, she obtained a master’s degree in biology teacher education from The University of Southern Mississippi and an Associate of Arts majoring in pre-physical therapy from Jones County Junior College. She has been married to Will Lawrence since 2000 and they have a daughter, Cameron Grace, who is going into second grade at Madison Ridgeland Academy. They attend First Baptist in Flora where they teach a seventh-12th grade Life Group, among other things. She and her family enjoy making much of Jesus.

The Moody Institute Trust Fund was established in 1990 in honor of Dr. George V. Moody, the first executive director of the State Board for Community and Junior Colleges. The purpose of the Moody Institute is to provide funds for enrichment experiences for faculty members employed in Mississippi’s public community and junior colleges.

For more information on the Moody Institute Trust Fund, visit

For more information on Holmes Community College, visit


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured is Dr. Tonya Lawrence, Holmes Community College’s Dean of Academic Programs, who was selected as a 2022 Moody Institute Fellow.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter