Skip to content Skip to footer

Goodman Campus celebrates student achievement during Honors Day

Goodman Campus celebrates student achievement during Honors Day Goodman held a Virtual Honors Day via Zoom on Tuesday, May 5 at 10 a.m. to celebrate student honors.

The Holmes Community College Goodman Campus recognized its students' achievements and honors during the 2020 Virtual Honors Day Program held May 5 via Zoom. Normally a dinner is held for honorees and their families in Frank Branch Coliseum, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Holmes had to make alternative arrangements this year.

Just like the usual program, however, representatives from each academic and career-technical program presented awards to students who have shown excellence in their given major, program or extracurricular activity. Other special awards were given, as well, in various other categories.

The program began with Goodman Campus Vice President Andy Wood welcoming everyone before Director of Industrial Studies Programs Dr. Luke Jones gave the invocation. The first students to be recognized were the 2020 Goodman Campus Hall of Fame inductees. Hall of Fame is the highest honor a student can receive and recipients were voted on by faculty and staff based on academic achievement, campus involvement and community service. The inductees included: Mary Clayton Burrell of Sallis, Britt Grace of Kosciusko, D’Mechriea Landfair of Sallis, Arin McIntyre of Drew and Braiden Suggs of Ackerman.

Some of these students earned other awards, as well. Suggs received the Student Government Association Award, and Landfair was named the Dr. Marilyn Burrell Memorial Award recipient. The Burrell Memorial Award is given to a student with a strong academic record, leadership skills and campus involvement. McIntyre received the Christine Herron Academic Achievement Award, which is given to a non-traditional student who is active in MOSAIC and shows academic excellence. Additionally, Grace was the Physical Science Award recipient as well as the Holmes Plus Award recipient. Holmes Plus is a competitive scholarship organization for students who show an aptitude in science and mathematics.

The other Holmes Plus Award recipients were Caleb Chisholm of Kosciusko and Landon Rhodes of Madison. Rhodes also received the Engineering Award. The Architectural Engineering Award went to Selena Miller of Kosciusko; the Wesley David Rule Mathematics Award, Bruce Ruschewski of Benton and the Social and Behavioral Science Award, Sarah Elizabeth Hardy of Bentonia. Hardy was also recognized for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa All Mississippi Academic Team and for being the 2020 Phi Theta Kappa Order of the Golden Key recipient. Shakeria Smith of Ackerman was also named to the Phi Theta Kappa All Mississippi Academic Team, and received the Biological Science Award.

The Business Administration Award went to Georgia Reeves of Kosciusko; the Elementary Education Award to Lily Kate Saxton of Benton; the English Composition Award toJenson Williams of Benton; the Literature Award to Kayla Ramage of Raleigh; the Creative Writing Award to Lundy Hawthorne of Richland and the Health, Physical Education and Recreation Department Award to Camillia Goodloe of Canton. In addition, Madeline McCown of Kosciusko received the W.Y. Sudduth History and Political Science Award; Dara Neagle of Goodman, the Foreign Language Award and Kelly Bennett of Yazoo City, the Bill Watkins Visual Arts Award.

Among the musically-talented students, Hamilton Allen of Pearl received the Band Award; Chris Ball of Butler, Alabama, the Music Major Award; Brandon Vaughan of Mathiston, the Percussion Groups Award and Tiara LeFlore of Byram, the Choral Music Award. LeFlore was also the Growl (newspaper) Award recipient.

In the career-technology and workforce programs, Zachary Trammel of Madison received the Automotive Technology Award; Chelsea Willhite of Kosciusko, the Business and Technology Award; Trey Roby of Goodman, Collision Repair Technology Award; Emily Valdes of Canton, Cosmetology Award; Donald Gray of North Carrollton, Criminal Justice Award and Christopher Kingston of Flowood, the Heating and Air Conditioning Technology Award. Additionally, Christopher Robinson of Kosciusko received the Industrial Technology Award; Kristi Bagwell of McCool was named the Practical Nursing Award recipient and Justin Nunn of Sallis received the Welding Award.

Other special awards were given, as well. Darlene Jolly of Carthage received the Deans and Directors Award, which is bestowed upon a non-traditional student who has been out of school for a while, has exceptional grades and has made an impact in the classroom. Finally, another special award is the Michael Klauk Award, named for a former pre-med student who tragically passed away. John Bailey Britt of West received this award for exemplifying the same model student qualities Klauk did.

Each award recipient will receive a certificate in the mail following the presentation. For more information on Holmes Community College, visit


Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter