Skip to content Skip to footer

Holmes recognizes faculty, staff for years of service

Holmes recognizes faculty, staff for years of service

On Monday, Aug. 10, Holmes Community College celebrated the upcoming 2015-2016 school year, as well as the 90th anniversary of the institution, with a tropical-themed Opening Convocation on the Goodman Campus. In addition to the games, cheerleader and Dazzler dance team performances, and a welcome back message by President Dr. Jim Haffey, the institution also recognized those who have reached milestones for their years of service to Holmes.

The Holmes employees recognized for 15 years of service with the college included Kevin Baker, director of information technology, Goodman; Christi Blair, licensed practical nursing instructor, Goodman; Mike Blakenship, vice president of workforce development, Ridgeland; Jay Cheatham, art instructor, Goodman; Joy Kellum, business office assistant, Ridgeland; David Malone, supervisor of grounds, Goodman; Gale Sheppeard, business and office technology instructor, Goodman and Grenada, and Angela Tanner, housekeeper/custodian, Grenada.

The faculty and staff members recognized for 20 years of service with the college included Sherrie Cheek, vice president for career and technical education, Goodman; Bill Grace, athletic trainer, Goodman; Jenny Jones, academic dean of the Goodman Campus, Patsy Rogers, admissions representative, Goodman, and Andy Wood, director of the Goodman Campus.

The employees recognized for 25 years of service with the college included Dr. Myra Harville, academic dean of the Grenada Campus; Linda McCollum, admissions representative, Ridgeland, and Katrina Myricks business and office technology instructor, Ridgeland.

Finally, the one employee recognized for her 30 years of loyal service to Holmes was Mary Brantley, English instructor and former department chair for English and Modern Foreign Languages. Brantley was one of the first instructors hired when the Ridgeland Campus opened its doors 30 years ago, and still teaches there today.

In the next several months, Holmes will continue to celebrate not only its employees, but the many milestones the college has reached over the past 90 years since the college first opened its doors.

IN THE PHOTO: 1. Mary Brantley recognized for 30 years of service. 2. (left to right) Dr. Myra Harville, Linda McCollum, and Katrina Myricks recognized for 25 years of service. 3. (left to right) Bill Grace, Jenny Jones, Patsy Rogers, Sherrie Cheek, and Andy Wood recognized for 20 years. 4. (left to right) Gale Sheppeard, Jay Cheatham, Joy Kellum, Christi Blair, Angela Tanner, Mike Blakenship, and David Malone recognized for 15 years. 5.(front row, left to right) Matt Convertino, Carla Ross, Heather Mooney, Pamela Sills, Alice Austin, Mandy Burrell, Tabetha Daves, Lilly Austin, Cynthia Abel, (back row, left to right) Donna Ahlrich, Tonya Lawrence, Kay Kelly, Jerry Harris, Earline Smith, Jason Flanigan, Sonny Sparks, and Will Alexander recognized for 10 years.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter