Skip to content Skip to footer

Holmes represents at the 2023 Teaching Professor Annual Conference

Five Holmes Community College employees represented the college at the annual Teaching Professor Conference held June 9-11 in New Orleans, Louisiana. Those in attendance included:  Dean of Academic Programs Dr. Tonya Lawrence, STEM Division Chair Dr. Antoine Gates, History and Political Science Division Chair Laura Canard, Social and Behavioral Science Division Chair/Grenada Campus Coordinator for Academic Programs Tina Garrett and English and Foreign Language Division Chair Amber Mabus.


Attendance to the conference was made possible by a grant Dr. Lawrence submitted to the Moody Trust Fund as well as from support from the college.


The conference is a place for teachers, course designers and faculty development professionals to attend in-depth conference sessions in instruction, student learning and instructional growth and development. It also gives educators – new and veteran, online and face-to-face – a chance to network with professionals from across the country, around the world and from a wide range of disciplines.

“The group had a wonderful time building stronger bonds internally as well as gaining inspiration and knowledge from others in higher education,” Dr. Lawrence said. “We had a great time and enjoyed eating our way through The Big Easy!”


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured are (left to right) Laura Canard, Tina Garrett, Dr. Antoine Gates, Amber Mabus and Dr. Tonya Lawrence.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter