Skip to content Skip to footer

Holmes Ridgeland Campus holds 2024 Honors Day

The Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus recognized its students’ achievements and honors during the 2024 Honors Day Program held April 17 in the Pat McGowan Workforce Training Center on the Ridgeland Campus. Representatives from each academic and career-technical program presented awards to students who have shown excellence in their given major, program or extracurricular activity. Other special awards were given, as well, in various categories.

The evening began with a welcome from Ridgeland Campus Career and Technical Coordinator Allison DeWeese and an invocation from Ridgeland Campus Vice President Dr. Don Burnham. Award presentations began with recognizing the 2024 Ridgeland Campus Hall of Fame inductees. Hall of Fame is the highest honor a student can receive and recipients were voted on by faculty and staff based on academic achievement, campus involvement and community service.

The 2024 Hall of Fame inductees included: Brooke Barron of Brandon, Colin Crosby of Ridgeland, Cedravious Davis of Canton, Tori Dew of Canton, Jaden Gonzalez of Brandon, Mary Katherine Hamilton of Madison, Analise Johnson of Sandhill, Graham Lambert of Canton, Presleigh Powers of Carthage, Jaycelyn Russ of Madison, Camille Scott of Brandon and Patrick Vallean of Olive Branch. A few of the Hall of Fame inductees received other awards, a well.

Lambert received the Ambassador Award, Gonzalez received the Physical Science Award and Dew received the award for both Biological Science and Health, Physical Education, & Recreation. Additionally, Crosby was the Engineering Award recipient, and Vallean was the Mathematics Award recipient.

For other academic awards, the Business Administration Award went to Ava Wages of Madison, the Criminal Justice Award went to Meagan Snyder of Madison and Kyle Hawkins of Madison took home the Education Programs Award as well as the History & Political Science Award. Jenna Hood of Madison received the English Composition Award, Emeree Moncrief of Madison, the Fine Arts Award and Aleesa Booker of Madison, the Journalism Award. Additionally, Ornette Lee of Brandon took home the Literature Award, Hayden Tanner of Madison, the Spanish Award, Greysen Lewis of Flora, the Public Speaking Award and Kent Barrett of Madison, the Social & Behavioral Science Award.

For career-technology and workforce programs, Jayvion Caston of Jackson received the Heating, Ventilation, AC & Refrigeration (HVAC) Technology Award; Lee Drake of Madison, the Business & Office Technology Award; Caleb Hernandez of Madison, the Welding & Cutting Technology Award and Emily Rowlen of Hollandale, the Occupational Therapy Assistant Technology Award.

In addition, the Electro Mechanical Technology Award went to Braeden Adams of Madison; the Engineering Technology Award to Ricky Tebo of Flora, the Culinary Arts Technology Award to D’Quevion Clay of Canton and the Associate Degree Nursing Award to Emily Price of Vaughan. Finally, Charles Mistich of Ridgeland was the Information Systems Technology Award recipient; Antwan Tingle of Meridian, the Paralegal Technology Award recipient and Troy Scott of Clinton received the Emergency Medical Science Award.

The ceremony concluded with closing remarks by Dean of Academics Dr. Tonya Lawrence.


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured are the 2024 Ridgeland Campus Awards & Honors Program recipient. They are (front row, left to right) Emily Price of Vaughan, Mary Katherine Hamilton of Madison, Analise Johnson of Sandhill, Tori Dew of Canton, Brooke Barron of Brandon, Jenna Hood of Madison, Camille Scott of Brandon, Jaycelyn Russ of Madison, Greysen Lewis of Flora, (middle row, left to right) Graham Lambert of Canton, Ornette Lee of Brandon, Presleigh Powers of Carthage, Emeree Moncrief of Madison, Braeden Adams of Madison, Ricky Tebo of Flora, D’Quevion Clay of Canton, Charles Mistich of Ridgeland, Jaden Gonzalez of Brandon, Lee Drake of Madison, (back row, left to right) Kyle Hawkins of  Madison, Colin Crosby of Ridgeland, Kent Barrett of Madison, Antwan Tingle of Meridian, Jayvion Caston of Jackson, Caleb Hernandez of Madison, Patrick Vallean of Olive Branch, Aleesa Booker of Madison, Meagan Snyder of Madison and Hayden Tanner of Madison. Not pictured: Cedravious Davis of Canton, Ava Wages of Madison, Emily Rowlen of Hollandale and Troy Scott of Clinton.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter