Skip to content Skip to footer

22 attend Phi Theta Kappa International Convention

22 attend Phi Theta Kappa International Convention

Twenty-two students, advisors and administrators from Holmes Community College attended the Phi Theta Kappa International Convention late last week in National Harbor, Maryland and came back with some prestigious awards.

The Kappa Alpha Chapter from the Goodman Campus won a Distinguished Honors in Action Award, the Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award and was named a Top 100 Chapter. The Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter was also named a Top 100 Chapter.

Ridgeland Campus Vice President Dr. Don Burnham received a 2016 Distinguished Administrator Award. Dr. Burnham was one of 25 administrators receiving the award.

Ridgeland Campus student and Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter member Ashlynne Banks was elected to serve as the Division II International Vice President for the 2016-17 school year. The last Ridgeland Holmes student elected as an international officer was Kim Richardson Curtis. Michael Minga, a former Grenada Center student, was also an international officer from Holmes.

The Kappa Alpha Chapter also had two students receive individual awards. Anna McCrory was recognized as a Meme4Money Geico winner while Nicole Moffett was recognized as a Distinguished Chapter Member.  Moffett was one of 30 chapter members receiving the award.

While in Maryland, the students and administrators toured Washington, D.C. and made lifelong friendships.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter