Skip to content Skip to footer

Phi Theta Kappa members shine at international convention

Phi Theta Kappa members shine at international convention Holmes Community College's three Phi Theta Kappa chapters were honored at the Phi Theta Kappa International Catalyst Convention held April 19-21 in Kansas City, Missouri.

A total of 2,359 entries were received in the 2018 Hallmark Awards competition, and the Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter from the Ridgeland Campus was recognized as a finalist (fifth place) for Most Distinguished Chapter, competing against more than 1,300 chapters worldwide. The Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter also placed in the Top 30 for Most Distinguished Officer Team; Top 32 for Honors in Action Project and top 50 for College Project.

Slade Allgood, president of the chapter, was named a 2018 Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar and received a $1,500 scholarship, as well.

Three Holmes students, Johnna Davis from the Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter in Ridgeland, Hallie Westbrook from the Kappa Alpha Chapter in Goodman and Ashlee Bennett from the Alpha Mu Beta Chapter on the Grenada Campus, were recognized for being Get2College Scholars. As Get2College Corps members, they were awarded $5,000 ($2,500 per semester) to assist high school students and their families with FAFSA completion and state financial aid applications. They carried out these duties over the course of a 10-week period during the school year, from October to March, 2017-18.

Other than Allgood and Davis, Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter members who attended the convention were: Lydia Allen, Mackenzie Danaher and Sarah Donahoo, along with advisors Blair Booker and Erin Renfroe.

Kappa Alpha Chapter members at the convention, in addition to Westbrook, were Jonathan Boles, Ethan Burton, Chris Kalil and Lamar Land as well as advisors Jason Kelly and Billy Wilson.

Finally, the Alpha Mu Beta Chapter members who attended, along with Bennett, included Emily "Kayti" Caldwell, Emma Kate Gibson and advisor Cynthia Abel.


Pictured are all the Holmes Phi Theta Kappa members and advisors who attended Nationals. They are (front, left to right) Mackenzie Danaher, Sarah Donahoo, Emma Kate Gibson, Emily "Kayti" Caldwell, Johnna Davis, Ethan Burton, (second row, left to right) Lydia Allen, Advisor Blair Booker, Hallie Westbrook, Jonathan Boles, Ashlee Bennett, Chris Kalil, (back row, left to right) Advisor Cynthia Abel, Slade Allgood, Advisor Jason Kelly, Advisor Erin Renfroe, Lamar Land and Advisor Emeritus Billy Wilson.

Holmes Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion,
national origin, sex, age, disability or genetic information in its educational programs and activities,
employment practices, or admissions processes. The following administrators have been designated to handle
inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies of Holmes Community College:

Inquiries regarding compliance with Title VI, ADEA, and Title IX are coordinated by the Vice President for
Compliance and Institutional Research, Henry B. McClellan Administration Building, Post Office Box 369,
Goodman, MS 39079, Phone: 662-472-9429,

Inquiries regarding compliance with Section 504 and ADA are coordinated by the Disability Student Services
Coordinator, M.R. Thorne Vocational-Technical Building, Room 110, Post Office Box 369, Goodman, MS 39079,
Phone: 662-472-9088,
Share on facebook
Share on twitter